Posted in Personal

In life, you gotta remember to always be thankful (no matter how shitty it has been for you)

Before the year ended, I ranted about how 2013 was one hell of a roller coaster ride for. But now, I think it’s just right that I share the things that I am actually thankful from the year that had just passed. I actually read an article from Thought Catalog by Sarah Mccartan entitled 30 Things I Am Thankful For. I took some that spoke to me and that I actually want to be thankful for, too. They were just written better than if I had done them.

 


The first part of this post is from the article I read at Thought Cataglog. (http://thoughtcatalog.com/sarah-mccartan/2013/12/30-things-i-am-thankful-for/). The second half is purely from my heart and mind.


I am thankful for all the things I never wanted to experience. The things I cried out against, and the ones that have felt nothing but unfair.

I am thankful I have experienced the weight of loving someone too much, so I know my heart is capable of such a feat.

I am thankful I carry with me the pieces of a broken heart, recognizing these pieces are not only a part of who I am today, but are valuable pieces of the puzzle of the person I am continuing to become.

I am thankful I’ve undergone transformations, those that have disconnected me from myself to show me the person I don’t want to be, and those that have nearly shaken me to death and brought me back home.

I am thankful I have made both decisions that were based solely on my feelings, because they felt right at the time, and those that were more thoughtfully based on logic, sensibility and clarity.

I am thankful I’ve made efforts to take my life back, even when I wasn’t sure where to start.

I am thankful I’ve walked away. Even when I didn’t want to.

I am thankful I’ve held on. Even though I know I shouldn’t have.

I am thankful my life is a beautiful mess and a lesson every day, and that this is enough reason to keep on keeping on, and more than enough reason to continue being thankful.




I am thankful for the people around me who showed me that I don’t have to have a lot of friends. That sometimes, all you need is yourself to be complete and okay.

I am thankful for those who left because they made me realize that life goes on even when you know that some things are missing.

I am thankful for my family. There’s no need for an explanation for that.

I am thankful for that one friend who stood by me and listened to all the things that I have to say. Even when I know to myself that all my rants are tiring.

I am thankful for that one person who made me fall in love in a different way. It might be wrong in so many ways but at least I know that it’s real. And I think that’s something to be really thankful about.

I am thankful for all the mistakes that I have done. They made me feel human and taught me such valuable lessons that I will never forget for the rest of my life.

I am thankful for all the lectures that I got from various people and experiences in my life. I may not want some of them but I am willing to comprehend them as much as I could.

I am thankful for still being able to wake up in the morning and see the sunlight. It feels great to know that you’re still alive.

I am thankful for all the blessings that I have received. Not all of them are material ones, some are lessons in life. I am thankful for both.

I am thankful for another year done and everything that had happened in it. Some are good, some are not. But at least I know that the year that had passed was fruitful and blessed. I can’t wait to see what this year has in store for me.

2013 wasn’t all that bad for me. There were good things that happened that made me smile and happy all throughout. Now that it is over, a new chapter in my book has began. I just hope that there aren’t much hardships this year and yes, I am still rooting for that famous happy ending in the end, no matter how impossible that may be.

2014, things will be different now. Let’s see how this year goes then! Happy New Year everyone! 🙂

Leave a Reply

