Posted in Space

Part 1

We sat there, heads bowed, not knowing what to say to each other after what just happened.

She was holding her cup of strawberry smoothie and I was just staring at my hands on my lap.

She cleared her throat and began, “I think it’s best if we don’t talk for some time.”

I was taken aback with what she said. Knowing her, she would neve suggest something like this. She can’t keep a grudge. She can’t stay mad for too long. So this thing she’s asking, not to talk for some time, meant that there was definitely something wrong. And as much as  I know that this is going to hurt her more than it will hurt me, I too, feel like that’s the best move for us at this point.

I slowly nodded and said, “Yeah, you’re right. Maybe we shouldn’t talk for a few days.”

Her head jerked up and looked at me with sad eyes. “What?”

“I think I need some time away too,” I replied, trying not to give in to her ever so melancholic stare.

“You do?” she said, this time near to tears. I simply nodded. She glumly smiled and said, “And here I thought you were going to say no to my stupid idea.”

My chest tightened. I didn’t mean to hurt her. But, I know this is the right thing to do. I sighed. “I’m sorry but I really believe this time off from each other is what’s best. Let’s just clear the air for some time.”

“But…” her voice trailed off.

I reached out to take her hand in mine. I smiled at her, despite the stabbing in my heart as I look into her teary eyes. “Everything will be fine after this. I promise.”

She withdrew her hand from mine and wiped the tear that fell on her left cheek. “I hope so. Because everyone who asked me for space, came back not wanting anything to do with me anymore.”

“That’ll never happen to you and me,” I reassured her. “I will always be yours, no matter what.”

She sniffed and whispered, “I love you.” Without another word, she stood up and walked out of the smoothie shop.

I didn’t run after her. I believed it was the best thing to do right now. I slumped at the back of my chair and watched her walk further away from me, not looking back. I already miss her face. I wonder when I can see it again.

 

Leave a Reply

