Posted in Second Chances

Part 6

I grabbed Trisha’s arm and dragged her. Dan followed behind. My heart was no longer going to explode due to too much love. It’s going to burst due to too much anger. I can’t believe it. I’m so pissed off right now; I could start blowing fire out of my nostrils.

“Hey, hey, easy,“ Trisha pulled away and stopped me. “Where are you going anyway?”

“Yeah,” Dan said, catching his breath.

They were right. I didn’t know where I was going to. But I know exactly who I wanted to see.

“Where’s the church for your wedding?” I asked Dan.

“It’s a few blocks. We’d have to take a ride,” he replied.

“Take us there,” I demanded. “Come on.” I walked towards the streets and called a taxi cab.

When we reached the church, something was wrong. It wasn’t teeming with people in pastel-colored dresses and tux. The church was empty. I checked my watch and it’s just a few minutes before Dan and Lilia’s supposed wedding. Where was everybody?

“Where’s everyone?” Trisha asked the question in my head.

“I..I dunno,” Dan answered, looking as confused as Trisha and I.

Someone walked out of the church, a lady, holding a few papers. I walked towards her, assuming she works for the church and she might know the answer to our question. Dan and Trisha followed behind.

“Excuse me Miss, I don’t mean to be rude but, ah, do you work here?” I pointed to the church.

“Yes,” she replied.

“Well, there’s supposed to be a wedding here today. In a few minutes actually. Why is it not set up?” I asked.

“Yes, there was supposed to be a wedding today,” she said. “But, the bride called it off last night. Are you friends of hers?”

“Ah not exactly. But we know her,” I responded. “Thanks for the info, anyway.” And I smiled at her. Then she walked away, her heels echoing on the pavement.

“She cancelled the wedding?” Dan asked.

I shrugged. I don’t get it. She’s so in love with Dan. Why would she cancel her own wedding at the last minute? It doesn’t make any sense.

“I don’t know about you guys and all this thing, but I have to go,” Trisha interrupted my thoughts. “I have work, you know.”

I nodded at her. “Of course. I’ll try to drop by when I’ve sorted things out.”

She smiled. “Don’t need to girlfriend. Just do what you need to do.”

I smiled at Trisha. I just love her. And to think I’ll be leaving her tomorrow. She gave me a hug and then she was off. Which meant it’s just only me and Dan now. “I’m assuming you know her place,” I told him. He nodded. “We have to go talk to her.”

Leave a Reply

