Posted in Second Chances

Part 7

“Dan, Marlee,” Lilia said as she opened the door. “Come in.” She stepped away from the door and gestured us to come in. It’s like she was expecting us. She didn’t even know why we’re at her place at the day of her supposed to be wedding. “I’m guessing you’re here because you want to know why I cancelled the wedding.”

“That’s one,“ I told her. “And something else, too.” I threw to her lap the piece of paper Dan showed me. “Looks familiar?”

She just chuckled. She didn’t even open the paper. “Yes.”

“Why would you do that?” I asked; my voice shaky from anger.

She sighed. “Because I love Dan.” And in her eyes, I knew how much she meant it. “When I came by his place, I saw him so drunk, which surprised me because I know he doesn’t drink. That made me realize that something bad had happened. He looked awful. And I don’t know, I guess, I took advantage of his vulnerable stage,” she narrated.

“While he was lying in his bed, drunk as hell, I wrote this note.” She unfolded the piece of worn out paper and stared it. Probably remembering the feeling she had when she wrote it. “I don’t know who broke his heart but I know that if I wanted to get back together with him, I have to erase her from the picture. So I wrote this and gave it to him.”

“You said you found it by my door!” Dan exclaimed.

“I lied!” Lilia confessed. “I’m sorry. I was just too in love with you. I wanted you back. I was desperate.” She said as she choked a sob. “I’m sorry.”

“Sorry? Sorry?” Dan lost his control. His hands went flying into air.

“Hey,” I rested my hand on his chest and that calmed him down. A bit. The veins on his neck were still showing and he still has that angry look in his eyes. I turned to Lilia. “You don’t have to be sorry. You only did that because you love Dan so much.”

“I’m sorry,” she apologized again. Her eyes were filled with tears now. “I never should’ve done it. I just thought I could replace whoever broke his heart that day. But when we saw you at the coffee shop, and I saw the way Dan looked at you, I knew that I didn’t succeed.” She wiped the tears on her cheeks and cleared her throat before talking again. “He looked at you, with eyes full of love. And even when you said that he’s just your friend, I knew the truth. That you were more than that. And I was right,” she took a deep breath and finished, “You were the girl I was trying to replace but obviously…couldnt.”

The three of us stayed there in silence and let Lilia’s words fill the four-walled room of her apartment.

Lilia finally broke the silence. “I cancelled the wedding last night. I realized that Dan wouldn’t be there. I don’t know but I just felt that he’ll be going after you. And I was right.” She looked up at us and she smiled. But I still saw how broken she was.

“Lilia, I…” I began but the words didn’t come out. I was so frustrated at her for writing the note but seeing how much she’s breaking right now, there’s just no room for anger anymore. I know that what she did was wrong. But she did it out of love. And I could not hate her for doing that. People just do crazy and unbelievable things when they’re in love.

She stood up and grabbed my hands. “You don’t have to say anything. This is it, Marlee. This is your destiny,” she gave my hand to Dan and held it there. “I’m sorry for trying to get in the way of your perfect love story.” She smiled at us. Her face looks happy but in her eyes, I saw pain.

I looked over to Dan and he looks completely clueless like I was. But we shared a smile nonetheless. We both thanked Lilia for explaining everything. She gave us both a warm and sincere hug. Somehow, that simple gesture cleared the bad blood between the three of us. After Lilia closed the door of her apartment, Dan took my hand in his and kissed it.

“What now?” I asked him. This day was one hell of a roller-coaster ride and I really can’t think straight on what’s going to happen next.

“I’d like to take you somewhere,” he said. “If you don’t mind.”

I smiled and nodded. I don’t know where he’s taking me but it doesn’t really matter. Anywhere’s good as long as we’re together.

Leave a Reply

