Posted in Second Chances

Part 8

He took me back to Hyde Park. We’re here, just like how it was before but somehow, it felt different. Like this is all something new. Dan slowly took my hand in his and I looked up at him. He was still him. The guy I love. His hair was still as messy as ever, actually messier now, but in a cute and adorable way. His eyes, still as brown as they were the first time I saw it. Then he smiled. Oh my God, his smile. That crooked smile of his. It’s the thing I love the most about him. He doesn’t even have to do anything to have me falling. He just have to smile and I’m all his.

“You okay?” he said. He always asks me that. I don’t know why, but I missed it. And I’m glad to hear him say it again.

I smiled and nodded. He let go of my hand and then took out something from his pocket.

Not another stupid note, I thought to myself.

And it wasn’t. It was…a ring.

“What is that?” I asked. I know. It was a stupid question.

“It’s a ring, silly!” He laughed. He took my left hand. I’m already wearing a ring. The ring he wanted me to remove because he said that I should not wear any ring on that finger unless I’m married. He slowly took off the ring and slid it into his pocket. “You said you’d take it off when I give you a new one. And here it is,” then he slipped the diamond ring into my finger.

I just stared at it. And it’s beautiful. I have never, in my whole life, thought that I’d be getting something like this. Or even something close to this. But here it was, glittering under the ray of the sun. It’s different from the one that Lilia was wearing. I don’t mean to compare, but mine was definitely better.

“I’m leaving tomorrow,” I looked up at him. “And I don’t know when I’ll be back here again.”

He just shook his head and smiled. “I don’t care. We’ll make it work. Isn’t that what you always say?”

I smiled at him then looked back at the diamond ring on my finger. I touched it with my thumb and let it move along my finger. “Is this a proposal?”

“Yes,” he said, a matter-of-factly. “Let’s start fresh, Marlee. I know I was stupid for letting you go. And I promise not to do such a stupid mistake like that again. We can make this work even if there are oceans between us. I know that we will last because I love you with all of my heart. I have never loved anyone like I love you.”

“Dan, I…” I have no idea what to say.

“You don’t have to say anything. Just say yes.”

I smiled and said, “Yes.” With his accent, there’s no saying otherwise, to be honest.

“You’re wrong, you know,” he said and held my hand. “You are my destiny.”

As his lips met mine, I thought to myself, I guess we do deserve a second chance.

Leave a Reply

